Semi Annual Update

I guess that’s about what we’re averaging- twice a year? I really would like to start writing more regularly. But it’s not really a goal- just one of those”it would be nice if I had the time and motivation to fit that in.” It starts to fall into the same category as cooking regularly, working out, organizing our extra bedroom, going through my closet, etc. I read the book The Happiness Project this summer. (If you’re unfamiliar, it has a lot to do with tackling all those nagging things are figuring out how to get organized). I really enjoyed reading it. I like how honest the author is about herself and her faults. And I love how organized she presents the information. And I thought to myself- i’m going to start one of those. And the book has been sitting on my nightstand since July to ‘remind’ me that I need to get started. Needless to say, I’m full of good intentions that get shut out by my procrastination. (On a side note- if anyone is interested in doing a ‘Happiness Project’ with me- let me know. I think it would help motivate me.)

We are 5 weeks into the school year. I am teaching at a Jr. High here in Mission. The campus is amazing and I work with really great people. The kids are pretty good too. It is a very different demographic than the school I was at 2 years ago, and I really like it. The beginning of this year was interesting for me- this is the first time in 5 years that I have returned to the SAME job after summer vacation. It definitely makes for a little bit smoother start. However, I am the Special Ed dept head this year, which came with some new responsibilities that keep me on my toes. It has been a really hectic year so far, and I keep waiting for things to fall into a routine, but I’m not sure they ever will. But either way, I’m still happy where I’m at. I have really tried to make a concious effort this year to be Happier at work. To find things that I enjoy, to not allow myself to get cranky and stressed about every little thing. And so far, there is a huge difference from last year. It is so much easier to get up and go to work each morning 🙂

Marcy is coaching Varsity football this year. This is his 8th year coaching and he has slowly made his way up, from 7th to 8th grade to Freshman for the last 3 years and now coaching Defensive Ends on the Varsity staff. (Don’t ask me which player on the field is a defensive end- I have no idea). It has been a big adjustment for him, but he has thrown himself into it completely. He goes non-stop from 5am to 8pm, and then comes home to get ready to do it all over again. He is very dedicated and really cares about the kids he works with and always wants to do his best. I don’t see too much of him these days, as it seems he is always working or sleeping (As I’m writing this- it’s 8PM on Sunday night and he’s already asleep) but I go to his games and try to be supportive.

We are both still working with the Youth at church- Marcy as the 2nd counselor in the YM, and myself as the YW president. This keeps us busy on Wednesday nights and Sundays, but we both really enjoy the Youth in our ward. They are incredible and I learn things from their examples daily. I have already started trying to plan girls camp for the upcoming year because we would like to have it over Spring Break before it gets too hot. It is on a Ward Level this year, so I’ve got a lot to do, and we’ve already established I’m quite the procrastinator. But I can’t afford to procrastinate on this, because I really want it to be something Great for the girls!

I feel like there should be something else for me to write about, but that’s mostly it. Work and Church take up most of our time. We LOVE having summers off together. We spent 4 weeks on vacation this summer- 2 weeks in Utah and 2 weeks in AZ. We drove my new car (The Malibu, which we got last summer, was destroyed in a major hail storm in March, so I got a Toyota Matrix and I LOVE IT!!), and just took our time. My were able to attend my best friend, Julie’s wedding in Utah in June, then spent the next week & half playing with Amy and Marcus and Ruby and Lola. I LOVE utah in the summer and it is always so hard to leave. Provo Canyon and the Green grass are the River… nothing beats it. Then we went down to Phoenix to spend time with the rest of my family. I was able to get together with a few of my girlfriends, spend time with 3 out of 4 brothers and spouses and Grace & Tucker, & even Baby BRYNN (Who is stinking cute!) We spent the 4th of July near the White Mountains in Eagar, AZ with a bunch of my cousins and had a great time! Cool weather and small town parade. And Aunt Nanny has the funnest house & yard. And even though the fireworks got rained out- I think it was one of the best 4th of Julys (sp) I’ve had in a Long Time!! Marcy also took me golfing for the first time while we were in AZ- AND he was pleasantly surprised that I wasn’t terrible 🙂 We spent Marcy’s Bday at my parents house (I feel like we have been in AZ for Marcy’s Bday for the last 4 years- I feel bad for his family) and then headed back to Texas. We were home for a few short days and then packed up AGAIN to go to Houston with Marcy’s family. We haven’t ever really done a vacation with them, and it was SO fun!! We stayed at a great hotel, near the Galleria, did lots of shopping at all the stores we don’t have here (IKEA, World Market, The Container Store, etc), AND we got to go see The Lion King off broadway. Marcy and his father weren’t exactly sure how they would feel about it- but they LOVED it as well!! Great show! We definitely make the most of our time off in the summer.

And that about sums up everything. We were planning a trip to Austin in November to visit Dan & Alicia as they will be in town for the weekend, but I scheduled knee surgery that weekend, so I don’t think we’re gonna make it. But on a positive note, my mom will be coming down to help take care of me, since Marcy will still be in football. Then we have the whole week off of school for Thanksgiving, and are hoping to make it up to San Antonio for at least a few days. Christmas will bring us back to AZ and UT (hopefully) as Amy is due to have baby #3 on Dec. 22nd and I can’t wait until summer to meet him! And that is officially all of the news I can think of. Now I need to see if I can figure out how to upload some of these pics from Marcy’s phone.

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Semi Annual Update

  1. Dawn says:

    I can’t believe you put that picture of me in there on the ball! At first I thought “where did she get that!” Then I remembered that you were there when I was there the second time! Fun memories of our outing up the canyon! Loved the picture of your cartwheel! 🙂 thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

